Perplexity Pro free trial: there isn't one, and a 72 hour refund is the closest thing

In brief

No. As of November 2026 Perplexity offers no free trial of Pro, Max or Enterprise that you can start yourself, and its Enterprise billing FAQ rules out self-serve Enterprise trials. Pro costs $17 a month billed yearly. The closest thing to a trial is a refund: a full one within 72 hours of buying a yearly plan on the web.

A teal glass magnifying glass on a black plinth, a closed white door with a small brass hourglass at its foot on a second plinth, and an open, empty teal glass box on a third plinth, in a dark studio.

Does Perplexity Pro have a free trial?

No, and Perplexity has now closed the last trial it ran itself, a 30 day trial of Enterprise Pro. We read its pricing page on 2 November 2026. Free, Pro and Max sit on it with no trial on any of them, and Max costs $167 a month billed yearly. The page prints only yearly rates. Here's how long you can actually test Pro without losing money:

Perplexity's longest no-loss test is a refund, not a trial
EU, UK or Turkey buyermonthly or yearly plan14 daysSouth Korea orBrazil buyermonthly or yearly plan7 daysEveryone else, yearly planfull refund72 hoursEveryone else,monthly planrefund on request24 hoursSelf-serve free trialPro, Max or Enterprisenoneeach square is one day to cancel for arefund on a web purchase, as of 2 Nov 2026

Enterprise used to be the exception. Perplexity's help center had an article titled "How does the 30 day free trial for Perplexity Enterprise Pro work?", and search engines still list it first for this query. That URL returned a 404 page when we opened it on 2 November 2026. Its replacement is one line in Perplexity's Enterprise pricing and billing FAQ: "We do not offer self-serve trials for Enterprise Pro or Enterprise Max." Companies that want to test it are sent to the sales team.

The Pro page does carry a "LIMITED TIME" badge. It promises $40 in free Computer credits on Pro and $450 on Max, and you get them after you pay. The iPhone app isn't different. Its App Store listing, read the same day, mentions no trial. It says a subscription renews unless you cancel it at least 24 hours before the period ends.

Every Perplexity trial route, checked 2 November 2026

Only one free Pro route we could confirm is open, and it's for phone customers in Japan. We checked twelve routes on 2 November 2026 against Perplexity's own pages and the partners' pages. Three of the offer pages that guides still link to have gone.

RouteWhat you getCard neededStatus on 2 November 2026
Pro checkout on perplexity.aiNo trial. $17 a month billed yearly, plus a limited time $40 in Computer creditsYesNo trial offered
Max checkout on perplexity.aiNo trial. $167 a month billed yearly, plus a limited time $450 in Computer creditsYesNo trial offered
Perplexity app on the US App StoreNo trial in the listingBilled by AppleNo trial offered
Enterprise Pro and Enterprise MaxNo self-serve trial. $34 and $271 a seat a month, billed yearlyNot statedEvaluation through sales only
30 day Enterprise Pro trial for invited membersThe help article that described itNot statedArticle returns a 404 page
Education Pro$10 a month after SheerID verification, no free periodYesOpen, not free
SoftBank, Y!mobile and LINEMO (Japan)6 free months, then ¥2,950 a monthBilled by SoftBankOpen, end date not set
Bell Mobility (Canada)A 12 month trial code, per the old support pageNot statedSupport page redirects to "Topic not supported"
Proximus (Belgium)1 free year, per the old offer pageNot statedOffer page redirects to Proximus news
PayPal and Venmo12 free months for first time usersYesEnded 31 December 2025
Airtel (India)12 free monthsYesEnded 16 January 2026
Give a month, get a month referrals1 free month for the new userApplied as a discountEnded 6 October 2025

SoftBank is the live one. Its Perplexity page says the six month campaign began on 19 June 2025, that the end date hasn't been set, and that the plan costs ¥2,950 a month from month 7 unless you cancel it. Airtel's year is over too: Perplexity's Airtel help page says "The promotional offer ended on January 16, 2026." Google's AI Overview for this query still told readers on 2 November 2026 that Airtel customers can claim it.

Teams that skip the sales call pay from day one. The Enterprise billing FAQ puts an Enterprise Pro seat at $40 a month or $400 a year, and an Enterprise Max seat at $325 a month or $3,250 a year. The pricing page's $34 and $271 are those yearly prices spread over twelve months. Perplexity's plan comparison gives the same Pro figure: per-seat pricing "starts at $40/month or $400/year/seat".

What does Perplexity mean when it says trial?

A Perplexity "trial" is a partner promotion that turns into a paid plan. Perplexity's partner promotions page uses "trial" and "promotional" for the same thing, and it sets the rules for both. Read on 2 November 2026, it says:

  • You need a card. "A valid credit or debit card is required for all promotional and trial redemptions."
  • You aren't charged during the free period. Billing starts when it ends.
  • It renews by default. "Unless you cancel before the trial ends, your subscription will auto-renew at the standard rate for the plan you selected during redemption (monthly or annual)."
  • You redeem codes on the web. The mobile apps don't take them.
  • A code is single use and stays on the account that redeemed it.

One rule catches people who already have a promotion. If Perplexity asks you to add a card, you get 7 days. Miss that and the account drops to Free. Add the card later and Pro comes back, but Perplexity says "any missed days will not be added back to your trial period." The monthly or yearly choice you make at redemption matters too. Pick yearly and the first charge after the free months is a full year.

How do you use the Perplexity refund window as a trial?

Buy Pro on the website and cancel inside the refund window if it doesn't suit you. Perplexity's refund page, read on 2 November 2026, gives a full refund within 72 hours of a yearly purchase. On a monthly plan you can ask for one within 24 hours. Buyers in the EU, the UK and Turkey get 14 days on either plan, and buyers in South Korea and Brazil get 7. These steps follow Perplexity's help pages:

  1. Subscribe at perplexity.ai, not in the app. Perplexity's refund page sends App Store buyers to Apple and gives Google Play buyers a separate email route, so only a web purchase is refunded from Perplexity's own cancel screen.
  2. Note the purchase time. The 72 hour clock runs from "the original purchase date and time."
  3. Test the parts Free lacks or caps: model choice, Deep Research and Perplexity Computer.
  4. To cancel, go to perplexity.ai/pro, select Manage Subscription, then Cancel Plan.
  5. Request the refund on the confirmation screen. Perplexity says the option appears "along with confirmation of cancellation."

You get one try. Perplexity says it "can't process secondary refund requests after a first one has been granted." So use the window for a real test, not a quick look. Our Perplexity Pro refund guide covers App Store and Google Play purchases, and how to cancel Perplexity Pro has every cancel path.

What does Perplexity's Free plan give you instead of a trial?

Perplexity's Free plan is the only way to try it with no card and no end date. Perplexity's plan comparison, read on 2 November 2026, gives Free 3 Pro Searches a day and 1 Research query a month. Pro moves both to weekly and monthly limits that Perplexity sizes for "average use". Free also leaves out model choice and Computer.

That's enough to judge Perplexity's everyday answers and the citations under them, but it isn't enough to judge Deep Research, because one Research query a month gives you a single sample to go on. Our page on Perplexity Pro limits shows what the weekly cap allows. Is Perplexity Pro worth it prices the plan against Perplexity's own API.

Is there a Perplexity Pro free trial for students?

No. Students pay $10 a month for Education Pro after SheerID checks their enrollment, per Perplexity's plan comparison as of November 2026. There's no free month first. Perplexity's partner promotions page also says the Student Referrals program, which used to add free months, has been discontinued. Our Perplexity Pro student discount page lists every student deal that has closed.

What is the cheapest way to test Perplexity Pro's features?

Free is the cheapest test, and a yearly Pro purchase refunded within 72 hours is the fullest one. Each route below tests something different, and the prices are as of 2 November 2026.

RouteUp-front costWhat it testsWhat it leaves out
Perplexity Free$0, no cardAnswers and citations, 3 Pro Searches a dayModel choice, Computer, more than 1 Research query a month
Pro yearly, refunded within 72 hours$17 a month billed yearly, refunded in fullAll of Pro for 3 daysA second refund later
SoftBank in Japan¥0 for 6 monthsAll of ProAnyone without a SoftBank, Y!mobile or LINEMO line
Whizi Pro intro week$1.99 for 7 daysPerplexity Sonar Pro at 20 credits a message, beside Claude and GPTPerplexity Computer, Comet and Perplexity's own Deep Research; renews at $29.99 a month

Whizi, which publishes this page, sells the last row. Its Pro intro week carries 600 credits, which is 30 Sonar Pro messages if you spend them all there. That tests Perplexity's search model, not Perplexity's app. Anyone who wants Pro itself should use the refund window instead.

Workflow checklist
  • Start on Perplexity Free; it needs no card and has no end date
  • If you buy Pro to test it, buy on perplexity.ai and note the purchase time
  • Cancel under Manage Subscription, then Cancel Plan, within 72 hours of a yearly purchase to get a full refund
  • Ignore any 30 day Enterprise Pro trial link; Perplexity removed that article and offers no self-serve Enterprise trial
  • Check your phone carrier before you pay; SoftBank in Japan still gives 6 free months
Common questions

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Perplexity Pro free trial code?

Not one you can start a trial with yourself. Perplexity says its discount codes are distributed "through our partners, authorized and official channels, and on our website", and each code is single use, so a redeemed code can't be applied on a different account. Sharing one breaks Perplexity's Terms of Service.

Does Perplexity Max have a free trial?

No. Max costs $167 a month billed yearly as of November 2026, and the pricing page lists no trial for it. Its only extra is a limited time $450 in Computer credits after you pay. The same 72 hour yearly refund window applies, and you only get one refund.

Can I still get Perplexity Pro free with PayPal?

No. PayPal's 12 free months were for first time users and ran through 31 December 2025, per PayPal's newsroom. Anyone who claimed it in late 2025 reaches the end of the free year in late 2026, when PayPal's terms say it renews at the current rate unless cancelled. Try AI without a credit card lists chatbots that start with no card.

Will I be charged when a Perplexity promotional trial ends?

Yes, unless you cancel first. Perplexity's rules say every promotional and trial subscription renews at the standard rate for the plan you picked at redemption. Cancel on the website under Manage Subscription before the free period ends, and Pro stays until the end of that period.