
Which is better, Google AI Pro or ChatGPT Plus?
Google AI Pro is the better buy for most people at this price, and the gap is in what surrounds the chat box rather than in the chat itself. For $19.99 a month it carries 5 TB of storage, Gemini in Gmail and Docs, a 1 million token context window and 1,000 Flow credits for Veo video. ChatGPT Plus at $20 carries none of those, and since OpenAI closed the Sora app on April 26, 2026 it generates no video at all. We compiled both plans from the vendors' own help pages on 27 September 2026, and the video row is the one most page-one comparisons still get wrong.
The chart understates Google's side, because every Flow account also gets 50 free credits a day on top of the monthly 1,000, and neither pool rolls over. It states OpenAI's side exactly: the Sora discontinuation notice says "The Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026", the API followed on September 24, 2026, and the ChatGPT pricing page lists no video feature on any plan. If video is why you're shopping, our Sora alternative roundup prices a second of video across eleven apps, and Veo 3.1 Lite in Google Flow is the cheapest at 2.5 cents.
Where ChatGPT Plus wins is the work that happens inside a chat window and a terminal. Plus buyers get GPT-5.6 Sol at the Medium and High thinking levels, Projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, "Expanded Codex usage" and GPT-6 Astra inside Work and Codex, per OpenAI's pricing page and its GPT-5.6 help article. Google answers with Gemini 3.1 Pro, Jules and Antigravity, which its benefits page says runs Claude 4.5 Sonnet and gpt-oss-120b as well as Gemini. If your day is Gmail, Drive and Docs, buy Google. If your day is a code editor and a chat tab, buy OpenAI. The three way version of this decision, with Claude Pro in it, is ChatGPT Plus vs Claude Pro vs Gemini Advanced; this page is the two way one.
Google AI Pro vs ChatGPT Plus limits: what each vendor actually publishes
Neither plan publishes a message number as of September 2026. Google's limits page for AI subscribers gives a multiplier instead: "AI Pro: 4x higher than standard limits", and a clock: "Your limit refreshes every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit." OpenAI's GPT-5.6 article says "Thinking limits depend on your plan" and that ChatGPT shows the reset time in the app. Every table you have seen with a Plus messages-per-3-hours figure is quoting an older model page.
Everything else that is published sits in one table, all of it read on 27 September 2026 for US accounts, in the vendor's own wording where a number is missing.
| ChatGPT Plus, $20 a month | Google AI Pro, $19.99 a month | |
|---|---|---|
| Flagship model in chat | GPT-5.6 Sol at Instant, Medium and High; Extra High and GPT-6 Pro are Pro plan only | Gemini 3.1 Pro with "expanded access" (one.google.com); Google's limits page lists Gemini 3 Flash-Lite, 3 Flash and 3 Pro on every plan |
| Text message cap | "Expanded messages"; thinking limits "depend on your plan", reset time shown in the app | 4x the free allowance, refreshing every 5 hours until a weekly cap; no number published |
| Context window | Not stated in tokens for Plus ("Expanded memory and context") | 1 million tokens; free accounts get 32k and AI Plus 128k |
| Deep research | "Expanded"; a fixed monthly allowance resets 30 days after first use | Included; the app tells you how many research requests are left for the day |
| Image generation | "More complex and accurate image creation", no number | Nano Banana 2 on every tier, Nano Banana Pro on paid plans |
| Video generation | None; Sora web and app discontinued 2026-04-26 | Veo 3.1 in Flow: 1,000 credits a month, 10 to 100 credits a clip |
| Cloud storage | None | 5 TB across Gmail, Drive and Photos |
| Inside your mail and documents | Connectors and apps; not embedded in Gmail | Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Vids and Chrome |
| Coding | "Expanded Codex usage"; GPT-6 Astra in Work and Codex | Jules, Antigravity with Claude 4.5 Sonnet and gpt-oss-120b, expanded AI Studio limits, $10 of Cloud credits a month |
| Sharing | Individual plan; no family option | Share with up to 5 family members; Flow and Antigravity limits are pooled |
| Student offer | 4 free months for US students, claim by 2026-10-31 | 12 free months for US students, redeem by 2026-12-31 |
| Billing | Monthly only; OpenAI says annual billing is not supported on Plus | Monthly or annual through Google One |
| Refund | "Payments are generally non-refundable"; a discretionary refund on an unused purchase within 7 days; 14 day prorated refund in the EU, UK and Turkey | Non-refundable "in most countries or regions"; Israel gets a prorated refund; Play and App Store purchases follow the store's rules |
Two rows deserve a second look. The context row is the largest measurable gap between the two plans: Google states 1 million tokens for AI Pro, which its own plan page translates as about 1,500 pages of uploads or 30,000 lines of code, and OpenAI does not state a token figure for Plus at all. The refund row is the one that bites later. Google One's policy is the strictest of the major AI vendors by its own wording, and how to get a Google AI Pro refund is the long version of what that leaves you.
Is it worth it to get Google AI Pro?
Yes, if you would pay Google for storage anyway or you live in Gmail and Docs, and no if you want a chatbot and nothing else. The plan is a Google One membership with Gemini attached, so the honest price is $19.99 minus whatever you already spend on Drive space.
The bundle as Google lists it on its AI plans page and its benefits page in September 2026: 5 TB of storage, Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Vids, Gemini Notebook with up to 300 sources per notebook, Gemini Spark, Jules and Antigravity with expanded limits, $10 a month of Google Cloud credits, Google Home Premium Standard, Google Health Premium, and a YouTube Premium Lite plan in select countries. A student at a US higher education institution gets the whole thing free for a year, "valued at $19.99/mo" in Google's words, redeemable until December 31, 2026; students in over 140 other markets get a year of the smaller AI Plus tier instead. OpenAI has never sold Plus at a student price. The ChatGPT Plus student discount page logs its two free-month offers and their claim deadlines.
The case against is just as concrete. The Gemini usage cap is a pooled, unpublished number, and Deep Research and video draw it down faster than chat does. Family sharing covers "select AI benefits", and Flow and Antigravity limits are shared across the whole group rather than multiplied by it. And if you buy on the web and change your mind, Google's policy gives you nothing back outside Israel. OpenAI at least names a 7 day discretionary window for an unused purchase.
Which is better, Google AI Ultra or ChatGPT Pro?
ChatGPT Pro is the one you can still buy in full: at $100 a month it gives 5x the Plus usage, GPT-6 Pro at 50 messages a week and unlimited image generation, while Google AI Ultra at $100 gives 5x the Pro usage and 10,000 Flow credits, and its $200 tier gives 20x, Deep Think and 25,000 credits. The catch is on OpenAI's side this month: its Plus help page says that "As of September 10, 2026, we're temporarily pausing new sign-ups and upgrades to the ChatGPT Pro $200 plan", so the $200 rung with 200 GPT-6 Pro messages a week is closed to new buyers until the pause lifts.
Google cut the top tier's price at I/O 2026, from $250 to $200, with what its blog calls the "exact same capabilities", and added the $100 rung for developers. Both vendors now sell the same shape: a $100 step and a $200 step above the $20 plan. For a video or filmmaking workload the Ultra tiers are the only serious option, because ChatGPT has no video at any price. For long reasoning runs the ChatGPT Pro allowances are at least numbers you can plan around.
Which plan wins for coding, research, students and math?
ChatGPT Plus wins coding, Google AI Pro wins research on long material and wins students outright, and math is a tie broken by which thinking tier you can reach. The table is the short form; the reasoning follows.
| Job | Pick | Why, from the vendor pages read 27 September 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Coding | ChatGPT Plus | Codex with "expanded" usage and GPT-6 Astra in Work and Codex; Google's Jules and Antigravity are strong, but Antigravity's limits are pooled across a family group |
| Research on long documents | Google AI Pro | 1 million token window, Gemini Notebook at 300 sources per notebook, Deep Research included; ChatGPT Plus states no token figure |
| Research with source control | ChatGPT Plus | Deep research lets you restrict or prioritise named sites and connected apps, and exports Markdown, Word and PDF |
| Students in the US | Google AI Pro | 12 free months against 4, and the 5 TB comes with it |
| Students elsewhere | Neither offer applies | Google gives a year of AI Plus in 140+ markets; OpenAI's offer is US only |
| Math and step by step reasoning | Tie | Plus reaches Medium and High thinking on GPT-5.6 Sol; AI Pro reaches Gemini 3.1 Pro, and Google keeps Deep Think for Ultra |
| Video and images | Google AI Pro | Veo 3.1 through Flow and Nano Banana Pro; ChatGPT Plus has image generation and no video |
| Email and documents | Google AI Pro | Gemini sits inside Gmail, Docs and Vids; ChatGPT connects to them from outside |
On math, the model you are allowed to think with matters more than the vendor logo. OpenAI's article is explicit that Plus gets Medium and High but "Not included" for Extra High and the Pro models, and Google lists "Deep Think reasoning mode" under Ultra only, so both $20 plans stop one rung short of their vendor's heaviest reasoning. Run the same problem in both free tiers before paying; best AI for math has the prompts and the models that held up.
On research, the split is about what you feed in. Gemini's window takes a folder of PDFs at once and its Notebook holds 300 sources; ChatGPT's deep research gives you the tighter controls over which sites it may read. Gemini vs ChatGPT covers the model level differences for documents and images in detail; this page stays on the plans.
The case for paying neither, and where it loses
If what you want is the models rather than the bundles, one multi-model plan at the same price covers both flagships and adds Claude. Whizi Pro is $19.99 a month billed yearly ($29.99 monthly) for 2,000 credits, where GPT-5.6 Sol is 20 credits an answer and Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview is 10, so the month is 100 Sol answers or 200 Gemini Pro answers or any mix, with Claude Sonnet 5 at 10 credits in the same picker, web search on by default, and 280+ models behind one login (how credits work). The advantage is comparing GPT against Gemini on the question in front of you instead of guessing which vendor to marry for a year.
That plan loses this comparison on everything outside the chat box. Whizi has no Veo or Flow, no Gemini in Gmail or Docs, no 5 TB of storage, image generation capped at 100 a month on Pro, video only on the Powerhouse tier, and individual accounts only, so there is nothing to share with a family group. It has no student year either, only a $0.99 first week.
The decision rule, then. Buy Google AI Pro when the storage, the Gmail side panel or Veo would be worth $10 a month to you on their own, because the Gemini access is then close to free. Buy ChatGPT Plus when Codex, custom GPTs or scheduled tasks are the reason you are paying. Buy neither, and take one multi-model plan, when the reason is the models, and check that rule again the next time either vendor moves a feature between tiers.
- Price Google AI Pro as $19.99 minus what you already pay for Drive storage; that is its real cost
- Want video: Google AI Pro, 1,000 Flow credits a month, 10 credits a Veo 3.1 Lite clip; ChatGPT Plus has had none since April 26, 2026
- Want Codex, custom GPTs or scheduled tasks: ChatGPT Plus, and accept no video and no storage
- US student: claim Google's 12 free months by December 31, 2026, or OpenAI's 4 by October 31, 2026
- Buying on the web outside the EU, UK or Turkey: Google gives no refund, OpenAI a 7 day discretionary one on an unused purchase
- Want GPT and Gemini both: one multi-model plan at the same price, minus the bundles
Frequently asked questions
Does ChatGPT Plus include Sora video generation?
No. OpenAI discontinued the Sora web and app experiences on April 26, 2026 and the Sora API on September 24, 2026, and the ChatGPT pricing page lists no video generation on Free, Go, Plus or Pro. Plus still includes image generation. Google AI Pro is the $20 plan with video, through Veo 3.1 in Flow.
Is Google AI Pro better than AI Plus?
Google AI Pro is the bigger plan on every published line: 4x the free Gemini limits against 2x, a 1 million token window against 128k, 5 TB of storage against 400 GB, and 1,000 monthly Flow credits against 200. AI Plus is the right tier if you want Gemini Omni and some storage and never touch Deep Research or video.
Is Google's AI better than ChatGPT?
Gemini is better when the input is the hard part, such as a folder of PDFs, an hour of video or a large codebase, because of the 1 million token window on AI Pro. ChatGPT is better when the output is the hard part, such as a memo, a plan or code you will run, and its coding tools go deeper. At the $20 tier the bundles decide it more often than the models do.
Can I share Google AI Pro or ChatGPT Plus with my family?
Google AI Pro can be shared with up to 5 family members through a Google One family group, with select AI benefits included and Flow and Antigravity limits pooled across the group. ChatGPT Plus is an individual plan with no family option; OpenAI sells Business from 2 seats for a household that wants separate accounts.