AI student discounts for 13 tools: Google gives a free year, Claude and Grok give none

In brief

Google gives the largest AI student discount on a chatbot: a free year of Google AI Pro, worth $239.88, for US college students who redeem by 31 December 2026. OpenAI gives them 4 free ChatGPT Plus months if they claim by 31 October 2026, Perplexity charges students $10 a month, and Claude, Grok and Cursor have no student price.

Three black plinths: a Gemini star beside a graduation cap, a chrome OpenAI knot beside a small hourglass, and a terracotta Claude starburst beside an empty terracotta dish.

Which AI tools give students a discount, and how much is each one worth?

We read the student page of 13 AI tools on the vendors' own sites on 18 October 2026, then priced each offer's first year against the list price the same vendor charges. Google AI Pro costs $19.99 a month after its free year. Adobe's student rate saves more in dollars, $600, but Adobe sells design software with AI inside, not a chatbot.

Google's AI Pro year saves a student $239.88. Claude and Grok save $0
Adobe Creative Cloud Pro71% off the first year$600Google AI Pro, US12 free months$239.88Lovable Prohalf price for 12 months$150OpenAI Codex creditsone grant, US and Canada$100Perplexity Education Pro$10 against $17 a month$84ChatGPT Plus, US4 free months, claim by 31 Oct 2026$80Google AI Plus, 140+ markets12 free months$59.88Claude Prono student price$0Grok and Cursorno student price$0one square is $20 saved in year one; orange offers have a 2026 claim deadline

Each figure is the list price a student would otherwise pay over 12 months, less what the offer charges. Perplexity's saving is measured against its cheapest Pro rate, $17 a month billed yearly, so a student who'd pay monthly saves more. GitHub Copilot Student sits outside the chart. It's free, but it isn't the paid Copilot Pro plan with a new label, so a dollar figure would flatter it.

Only OpenAI and Google print a claim deadline. OpenAI's ChatGPT Plus offer takes claims until 31 October 2026, 13 days after our read, and Google's offers take them until 31 December 2026. Grammarly calls its offer limited time and gives no date. Every other offer in the table prints no end date at all.

Every AI student discount as of 18 October 2026, in one table

Every row below was read on the vendor's own page on 18 October 2026, and each price is in US dollars as the vendor printed it. The table covers offers a student can claim alone. Campus deals, where a university pays, are in the Claude and Canva rows and in the section on Claude below.

Tool and offerWhat a student getsWhereWho qualifies, and how it's checkedRenews atClaim deadline
ChatGPT Plus (OpenAI)4 free monthly billing periods, for claims made by the deadlineUS onlyCurrent college and graduate students at eligible US colleges; SheerID$20 a month31 October 2026, no student price after it
Codex credits (OpenAI)$100 of Codex credits (2,500 credits), onceUS and Canada, if you live thereUniversity students; SheerIDNothing renewsNone printed
Google AI Pro12 free months, with 5 TB of storageUS onlyCollege students 18 and older; checked again every year$19.99 a month31 December 2026
Google AI Plus12 free months140+ markets, not the US, Canada, Albania, Bolivia, Hong Kong, Macau or TunisiaEligible students$4.99 a month or the local price31 December 2026
Google AI Pro with YouTube PremiumUp to 70% off, for up to 4 yearsSelect marketsStudents on a personal Google account; SheerIDThe standard price once you stop being a studentNone printed
Perplexity Education ProEverything in Pro for $10 a monthNot statedStudents and educators; SheerID$10 a monthNone printed
Claude Pro (Anthropic)No student priceAnyOnly through a university that buys Claude for Education$20 a month, or $17 billed yearlyNo offer
Grok (the X Subscription)No student priceAnyNo student routePlus $8, Premium $30 a monthNo offer
CursorNo student price, only promotions at campus eventsAnyNo student routeThe same X Subscription plansNo offer
GitHub Copilot StudentCopilot free, Auto model choice only, an allowance of AI creditsWherever GitHub Education verifiesStudents 13 and older; GitHub Education, checked every monthFree while you qualify (Copilot Pro is $10)None
Grammarly Pro50% off one subscription periodNot statedSheerIDThe standard price after that period"Limited time", no date
NotionThe Plus plan free for one member; Notion AI is a trial onlyAccredited colleges and universitiesSchool email as the account's main email, every yearFree while verified; full Notion AI needs Business at $20None printed
Lovable Pro50% off for up to 12 months, $12.50 against $25Not statedSchool email, for accounts on the free plan$25 a monthNone printed
Adobe Creative Cloud Pro$19.99 a month in year one, 71% off $69.99US pricesStudents 13 and older at an accredited school; school email or documents$39.99 a month from year twoNone printed
CanvaNo university price; free for primary and secondary schoolsAnyA teacher's invite, or a university that pays for Canva for CampusNo offerNo offer

Thirteen tools, fifteen rows, because Google runs three separate student offers. OpenAI and Google both make you add a payment method before the free months start, on ChatGPT Plus and on all three Google offers. Google's terms say AI Pro "will automatically charge $19.99/month after the trial ends" unless you cancel. OpenAI's terms are just as plain. "Claim the offer by October 31, 2026," its help centre says, and a ChatGPT Plus plan billed through the App Store or Google Play can't take it. Microsoft's education page still advertised a free year of Microsoft 365 Premium on 18 October 2026, but its offer page wouldn't load for us, so it isn't in the table.

Which AI student discounts are free?

Five AI student offers cost nothing to claim: Google AI Pro (US), Google AI Plus (outside the US), ChatGPT Plus for 4 months (US, claims by 31 October 2026), GitHub Copilot Student, and OpenAI's $100 of Codex credits. Notion's free Plus plan is a sixth if you count a note app whose AI is a trial. Google's two are the only free years. Google's US student page says new students and those "whose 2025 AI Pro trial has expired can qualify", so last year's claim doesn't lock you out.

Free months aren't free forever. Google AI Pro bills $19.99 a month from month 13, Google AI Plus bills $4.99 or the local price, and ChatGPT Plus bills $20 from month 5. GitHub is the exception. Copilot Student stays free while GitHub Education still sees you as a student, and GitHub checks that every month. It's also the one free AI offer a student under 18 can claim alone: GitHub takes students from 13 in "a degree or diploma-granting course of study", with a school email or dated proof of enrollment.

Perplexity is the cheapest paid offer that never expires on a date. Education Pro is $10 a month after SheerID verification, and Perplexity's plan page says it includes everything in Pro, though the same page's table puts weekly limits on Pro Searches. The full numbers and the closed free offers are in Perplexity Pro student discount, and Google's three offers have their own page at Gemini student discount.

Is there a Claude student discount?

No. Anthropic's help centre says "We don't offer standard discounted pricing for individual plans (Pro and Max)," and on 18 October 2026 a student pays the same $20 a month, or $17 a month billed yearly, as anyone. Anthropic sells education to schools. Its pricing page offers universities "Comprehensive access for all university members at discounted rates". A student gets that only if the university signs.

So the student route to Claude runs through a campus, and your IT desk knows whether yours signed. Claude student discount lists which universities give students access and the lab route for graduate students in the sciences.

Which AI coding tools have a student discount?

GitHub Copilot is the AI coding tool with a real student plan: Copilot Student is free to verified students, with an allowance of GitHub AI credits and model choice limited to Auto. GitHub's plan table says it "Excludes third-party agents". Copilot Pro, the plan most coding guides describe, is $10 a month. GitHub also says a verified student can't cancel the free plan.

OpenAI's student offer for coders is credit, not a plan. A verified student at a US or Canadian university gets $100 of Codex credits once, which shows as 2,500 credits on a Free, Go, Plus or Pro account. Lovable, the app builder, takes half off Pro for up to 12 months: $12.50 a month against $25. It only applies to accounts still on Lovable's free plan, and canceling loses the discount for good.

Cursor has no student price. Its students page says "look out for promotions at our on-campus and online events starting this fall." Since 12 October 2026 Cursor and Grok have sold one subscription, the X Subscription, at $8, $30, $100 or $200 a month with a shared usage pool. The x.ai pricing page lists no student tier, and it warns that "We do not authorize any resellers or third-party sellers." Treat a "student discount code" for either as a resold account.

Can students outside the US get an AI discount?

Yes, but the two biggest chatbot offers are US only. Outside the US, Google AI Plus is the free year: 12 months in more than 140 markets, though not in Canada, Albania, Bolivia, Hong Kong, Macau or Tunisia. OpenAI's 4 free months of ChatGPT Plus need a US college or graduate school. Google AI Pro needs a US college too.

Canada is the odd case. It's shut out of Google AI Plus and of OpenAI's Plus offer, yet it's one of two countries in OpenAI's Codex credit offer. Perplexity, Grammarly, Lovable and GitHub print no country list. All four check you through a school email, SheerID or GitHub Education instead, so the real test is whether that check recognises your school. Prices outside the US are local, and Google says AI Plus renews at "$4.99/month or local currency equivalent."

Every free AI student plan renews at full price unless you cancel

Every free student plan in the table with a card on file renews at the full price: $20 for ChatGPT Plus, $19.99 for Google AI Pro, and $4.99 or the local price for Google AI Plus. Put the renewal date in your calendar the day you claim. ChatGPT's 4 free billing periods start on the claim date, so a claim made on 31 October 2026, the last day, is first billed at the end of February 2027. Google bills from month 13.

If you cancel, the free time you already have stays. OpenAI says Plus access continues to the end of the current period. Google says you can "cancel anytime." Grammarly's 50% applies to one subscription period, and it doesn't combine with other offers or with purchases made in the App Store or Google Play.

Whizi, which publishes this page, has no student price, so claim the free year first. Once it ends, Whizi Starter is $15.99 a month, or $10.99 a month billed yearly, with the first week at $0.99. It reaches ChatGPT Luna, Claude Haiku and Whizi AI. Claude Sonnet, Claude Opus and ChatGPT Sol start on Pro at $29.99. It suits a student who wants GPT and Claude on one bill after the free months close, not one still inside a free year.

Workflow checklist
  • Claim OpenAI's 4 free ChatGPT Plus months by 31 October 2026, on the web, not through the App Store or Google Play
  • Redeem Google AI Pro (US) or AI Plus (140+ markets) by 31 December 2026
  • Write the renewal date down the day you claim: month 5 for ChatGPT Plus, month 13 for Google
  • Ask your university IT desk whether it already pays for Claude for Education or Canva for Campus
  • Coding students: apply to GitHub Education for Copilot Student, then claim the $100 of Codex credits if you study in the US or Canada
  • Skip any reseller selling a "student" Grok, Cursor or ChatGPT plan; x.ai says it authorizes no resellers
Common questions

Frequently asked questions

Is ChatGPT Plus free for students?

Yes, for 4 monthly billing periods, if you're a US college or graduate student and claim OpenAI's offer by 31 October 2026. After that date ChatGPT has no student price. You verify through SheerID and add a payment method, and Plus then renews at $20 a month. If you claim it and want the card gone before month 5, how to remove a card from ChatGPT has the steps.

Is Claude free for students?

Claude is free for students only when their university pays for Claude for Education. Anthropic sells no individual student discount, and Claude Pro costs a student $20 a month, or $17 a month billed yearly, as of October 2026. The free Claude plan works for anyone. Whether the $20 is worth paying is what is Claude Pro worth it works out.

Is Gemini Pro free for students?

Yes, for US college students 18 and older: Google gives 12 free months of Google AI Pro to students who redeem by 31 December 2026, then charges $19.99 a month. Students in most other markets get Google AI Plus free for a year instead. Both need a payment method at sign up, so cancel Google AI Pro before month 13 if you don't want to pay.

Do AI student discounts need a credit card?

The two biggest do: OpenAI's ChatGPT Plus offer and Google's AI Pro year both take a payment method before the free months start. Perplexity charges $10 a month from day one. GitHub Copilot Student and Notion's Plus plan are free plans with nothing to bill, and Lovable verifies you without a card. If your card is refused at sign up, paying for AI when your card is declined covers the fixes.