
Does Claude have a student discount?
No. Anthropic's help centre says it plainly: "We do not offer standard discounted pricing for any of our paid plans, including Pro plans." A student pays what anyone pays. That's $20 a month for Claude Pro, or $200 for a year, per the pricing page on 11 October 2026. Max starts at $100 a month. What Anthropic gives students runs through a school, a lab or a club. The chart puts each route it has opened since April 2025 on one line. Orange points are open to a student at any school today.
Two of those routes cost nothing and need no one's say. Learning mode answers with questions instead of solutions. It was part of the paid education plan until 14 August 2025, when Anthropic made it available to everyone on Claude.ai. The lab seats are newer, opened on 27 August 2026. Everything else waits on an institution. Even the pricing page sells education only to schools: "Get a comprehensive university-wide plan for an institution, including its students, faculty, and staff."
Which universities give students Claude for free?
A university that signs with Anthropic gives students Claude at no cost to them, but not every campus deal covers students. We read 11 schools' own Claude pages on 11 October 2026. Nine give students access. Boston University and UT Dallas license Claude to faculty and staff only. "Not stated" means the school's page doesn't name a price.
| University | Who gets Claude | What the school calls it | Cost to the student | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northeastern University | All students | Claude for Education | Not stated | 2 Apr 2025 |
| London School of Economics | All students, plus 900 staff licences | Claude for Education, a pilot running May 2025 to March 2027 | $0 | 2 Apr 2025 |
| Champlain College | Current on campus and online students | Claude Pro | $0 through June 2027 | Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Northumbria University | Full time students at the Newcastle campuses, from the 2025/26 pilot | Claude for Education | $0 | 9 Jul 2025 |
| Syracuse University | All students, faculty and staff | Claude Enterprise, with Claude Code and Cowork | Not stated | 22 Sep 2025 |
| University of Pittsburgh | Students, faculty and staff, Pittsburgh and regional campuses | Claude for Education on AWS | Not stated | 22 Oct 2025 |
| Dartmouth | Students, faculty and staff | Claude for Education | Not stated | 3 Dec 2025 |
| University of Chicago | Students from September 2026 | Claude Enterprise | $0 | 2 Jun 2026 |
| UT Austin | Current students, faculty and staff | Claude EDU Campus, the free tier | $0 for that tier | Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Boston University | Faculty, researchers and staff only | Enterprise seats bought by departments | Not sold to students | Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| UT Dallas | Faculty and staff only | Claude for Education | Not offered to students | Read 11 Oct 2026 |
BU's Claude page says "Licensing for students is not available for individual purchase." Its departments pay $240 a seat a year for the Standard tier. That's $40 more than a student pays Anthropic for a year of Claude Pro. UT Dallas charges its departments $216 a year for a Standard seat, which is $16 more than Pro billed yearly. A school license isn't a bulk discount. It buys control.
Anthropic's education page also shows the University of San Francisco and the University of Virginia. We found no student sign-up page from either, so ask before you count on it. Signing in works the same everywhere. You open claude.ai and use your university email, per Anthropic's student FAQ, updated 9 September 2026. The school account adds higher limits, Projects and file uploads. Champlain does it differently: it upgrades a free account made with a @mymail.champlain.edu address to Pro, which can take up to a week.
Can a graduate student get Claude free without a campus deal?
Yes, if you work in a science, mathematics, computing or engineering lab. Anthropic launched its Claude Team plan for scientists on 27 August 2026 with 10,000 seats. Standard seats cost $0 a month for 12 months from sign up. Premium seats, with 5 times the usage, cost $15 a month.
Only a principal investigator at an accredited university or nonprofit institute can apply, and the help centre limits it to PIs "working in the natural sciences, mathematics, computer science, engineering, and related fields." Once verified, it says, "PIs can add additional group members including postdocs, graduate students, and researchers." A group takes 1 to 25 seats. So a PhD student's request doesn't go to IT. It goes to the PI, in one message. Companies and industry labs aren't eligible, and a school without any Claude deal still qualifies. A history or law student has no lab route, so a campus deal or Claude Campus is the way in.
What do Claude Campus ambassadors and Builder Clubs get?
Claude Campus is a paid role, not a discount. Anthropic pays each student lead a $3,600 stipend for a school year running from September 2026 to June 2027. Undergraduates lead a Claude Builder Club. Master's students run Claude Campus Conversations, and PhD students and postdocs run Claude Science workshops. Club leads share "resources (like API credits)" with members.
Applications for this year opened on 1 September and closed on 12 September, and the page now says the program is closed for fall 2026. Students anywhere can apply if they're 18 or older and allowed to work where they study. If your campus already has a Builder Club, joining it is the quick way in. Coding students at community colleges, state schools and HBCUs have one more route: CodePath put Claude and Claude Code into its courses for more than 20,000 students on 13 February 2026.
What is the cheapest way for a student to pay for Claude?
The cheapest paid Claude is the one your school or lab already pays for. If neither does, here's the order as of October 2026:
- A school or lab account, at $0. Ask your IT desk, or ask your PI about the scientists plan.
- Claude Free with learning mode on, at $0. Our Claude free plan test shows where it runs out.
- Claude Pro month to month in term. September to May is nine months at $20, or $180.
- Claude Pro billed yearly, at $200. It works out to about $16.67 a month, but you pay for the summer too.
- Claude Max, from $100 a month, for heavy daily use.
Paying monthly for term time beats the yearly plan by $20, if you cancel in May. If another model would do, OpenAI and Google run free months for US students, and our ChatGPT Plus student discount page lists their deadlines.
Whizi, which publishes this page, has no student price either. Its Starter plan is $15.99 a month with Claude Haiku, ChatGPT Luna and Whizi AI, and the first week costs $0.99. Claude Sonnet and Claude Opus start on Whizi Pro at $29.99 a month, with a $1.99 first week. Its 2,500 credits buy 250 Sonnet or 125 Opus messages. If Claude is all you want, Claude Pro at $20 is the better buy. Whizi only makes sense if you'd pay for ChatGPT as well.
- Ask your IT desk whether the university has Claude for Education or Claude Enterprise, and whether students are included
- Sign in at claude.ai with your university email; a plain free account means your school has no deal
- PhD and master's students in a science, mathematics, computing or engineering lab: ask the PI about the Claude Team plan for scientists, $0 Standard seats for 12 months
- Turn on learning mode in Claude Free before paying anything
- If you pay, take Claude Pro monthly for term time and cancel in May rather than buying the $200 year
Frequently asked questions
Does a .edu email get you Claude Pro?
No. A school email only works where the university has signed with Anthropic. Anthropic's student FAQ tells students to sign in with their university email to reach a "university-sponsored" account, so it's the deal, not the address, that unlocks it. At a school with no deal, a .edu sign up is an ordinary free account.
Is there a Claude student discount code?
No. Anthropic's help centre says its support team "cannot issue one-off discounts or coupons," and that its rare limited-time promotions are announced through official channels. A code sold on a coupon site isn't Anthropic's. A shared "student" login bought on a marketplace leaves the seller holding your chats.
Is there a Claude student discount in the UK or India?
No, not for individuals in either country as of October 2026. UK students at LSE and Northumbria get Claude for Education free through their university. Northumbria's 2025/26 pilot covered full time students at its Newcastle campuses. Anthropic hasn't announced a student offer in India. Students in both countries can apply to Claude Campus each September if they're 18 and allowed to work where they study.