
Does Claude Pro have a free trial?
We checked nine routes to free Claude Pro or Max on 11 October 2026. Four are closed or never had a trial. Four need a school, an open source project or a company behind you. The last one needs a friend who already pays.
Anthropic's pricing page lists Pro at $20 a month, or $17 a month billed yearly at $200. The button under it says Try Claude. No trial appears in the Free, Pro or Max columns. The page has exactly one Trials row, and it sits in the Team and Enterprise table, where only sales-assisted Enterprise gets a yes.
The iPhone app is the same. Its App Store listing sells Claude Pro at $20 a month and $214.99 a year, which is $14.99 more than the yearly price on the web. Max 5x is $124.99 there against $100 on the web. Nothing in the listing mentions a trial.
The 30 day Claude Pro trial some guides still promise matches only an offer that lasted one day. Anthropic's offer page, archived on 29 October 2025, gave a free first month of Pro to "first-time subscribers who are signing up with a verified company email address". It called itself "available for one day only" and closed at 7:59 a.m. PT on Thursday 30 October 2025. Gmail and other personal addresses didn't count, and the plan renewed at the normal price unless you cancelled. The offer URL now redirects to Claude's product overview.
Every route to free Claude Pro or Max, checked 11 October 2026
Four of the nine routes are shut, and four need an institution. Each row comes from Anthropic's own pages, except the App Store row, read from Apple's listing. The one-day offer comes from an archived copy of Anthropic's offer page.
| Route | What you get | Who can use it | Card needed | Status on 11 October 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Pro checkout on claude.ai | No trial. $20 a month, or $200 a year | Anyone in a supported country | Yes | No trial offered |
| Claude app on the App Store | No trial in the listing. $20 a month, $214.99 a year | iPhone and iPad users | Billed by Apple | No trial offered |
| Guest pass | 7 days of Pro, with Claude Code, Cowork and Claude Design | Accounts new to Claude paid plans, invited by an eligible Pro or Max subscriber | Yes | Open, by invite |
| Work email free month | First month of Pro free | First-time subscribers on a verified company email | Yes | Closed 7:59 a.m. PT, 30 October 2025, after one day |
| Gift subscription | Pro or Max paid for by someone else | Anyone holding a gift | Not stated | New gifts paused; old ones redeem up to 365 days after purchase |
| Claude for Open Source | 6 months of Max 20x | Maintainers accepted on application | Not stated | Open, by application |
| Claude for Education | A university-wide plan | Students and staff at a member university | Paid by the institution | Open, through the school |
| Ramp and Anthropic | 2 months of Teams Premium, 2 to 150 seats | Ramp customers with no Team or Enterprise plan | Yes | Open to Ramp customers |
| Enterprise, sales-assisted | Trial terms set with sales | Companies buying through Anthropic's sales team | Not stated | Listed on the pricing page |
Gifts were the one route anybody could buy for a friend, and they're paused. Anthropic's gift help page says: "Gift subscriptions are currently unavailable to purchase." It gives no date for their return. A gift bought earlier still works for 365 days from purchase, and one account can't stack two.
The institutional routes are real but narrow. Claude for Open Source gives accepted maintainers 6 months of Max 20x. After that the account goes back to free, or to its old paid plan. Ramp customers can claim 2 months of Teams Premium for 2 to 150 seats. A card goes on file, and list price starts after month two. Students get Claude when their university buys the education plan, which Anthropic's pricing page describes as "a comprehensive university-wide plan for an institution". Anthropic sells no student price to individuals.
How does the Claude guest pass work?
A guest pass is a link that gives a new user 7 days of Claude Pro, including Claude Code, Cowork and Claude Design. Eligible Pro and Max subscribers get a limited number to share. Anthropic's older help page offered passes to Max subscribers only. The current page, read on 11 October 2026, adds Pro. Here's the redemption, step by step:
- Ask someone on Claude Pro or Max for a pass. They'll find theirs with the /passes command in Claude Code, in the Claude Code section of their Claude settings, or in the Cowork tab of Claude Desktop's settings.
- Open the link on an account that has never paid for Claude. Anthropic's rule: "Referral recipients must be new to Claude paid subscriptions."
- Choose Pro, not Max. Anthropic's earlier guest pass page warned that a recipient who picks Max gets no pass and is "charged immediately for a Max plan."
- Add a card. Anthropic's offer terms say a free trial isn't charged during the offer period, "though we may place a temporary authorization hold to verify it."
- Cancel in Settings > Billing before day 7 if you don't want to pay. You keep Pro until the 7 days end. If you don't cancel, the pass becomes paid Pro at $20 a month.
Passes run out. A sender can't send more once theirs are redeemed or expired, and when more people click a link than there are passes, the first to redeem get them. Senders may also earn overage credits when a guest converts to paid. The offer terms allow one redemption per person and per account. Anthropic can revoke a trial claimed through a second account.
What does Claude's free plan include instead of a trial?
Claude's free plan is the standing way to try Claude, with no end date and no card. As of 11 October 2026 it carries Claude Sonnet and Claude Haiku, web search, file creation and code execution, memory across conversations, app connectors, Artifacts and Claude Design. Claude Opus and Claude Code start on Pro, and Free caps Projects at 5.
Usage is the other gap. Anthropic's pricing FAQ says "Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free," and neither plan has a fixed message count. So a week on Free tests Claude's writing on Sonnet fairly. It tests nothing about Opus or Claude Code. Is Claude free good enough has a one-week test for the first question, and is Claude Pro worth it covers what the $20 buys.
What is the cheapest way to try Claude Opus and Sonnet without a trial?
With no guest pass, one month of Claude Pro at $20 is the plainest test of the real product. You can cancel the day you subscribe. Anthropic's cancellation page says you keep the paid plan until the billing period ends. Paying by the token costs less for a short test, and an intro week elsewhere costs less again if you only want the models.
| Route | Up-front cost, as of 11 October 2026 | What it buys | What it leaves out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude guest pass | $0 | 7 days of Claude Pro | Nothing, if you can find a sender with a pass left |
| Claude Pro, one month | $20 | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku, Claude Code and Projects for a month | A refund in most countries; EEA and UK buyers have 14 days |
| Claude API, pay as you go | A small free credit for new users, then per token | Opus 5.5 at $0.014 and Sonnet 5.5 at $0.007 for a 1,000 token question and 500 token answer | The Claude apps; you need code or a chat client |
| Whizi Pro intro week | $1.99 for 7 days | 625 credits: 62 Claude Sonnet or 31 Claude Opus messages, beside GPT and Gemini | Claude Code and Cowork; renews at $29.99 a month |
| Whizi Starter intro week | $0.99 for 7 days | 200 credits: 200 Claude Haiku messages | Every Claude model above Haiku; renews at $15.99 a month |
Refunds are why the $20 month is a commitment. Anthropic's pricing FAQ calls payments "generally non-refundable", apart from what its consumer terms or local law allow. Buyers in the EEA and the UK can ask for a refund in the app within their 14 day withdrawal period. How to get a refund for Claude Pro covers the rest.
The API suits people who'll write a script or already use a chat client. Anthropic's pricing docs say "New users receive a small amount of free credits to test the API" and don't name the amount. At $0.014 a standard Opus 5.5 answer, $20 buys about 1,430 of them. The cheapest way to use Claude Opus works through that sum.
Whizi, which publishes this page, sells the last two rows. The Pro intro week is the cheapest way we know to run Claude Opus and Claude Sonnet beside GPT for 7 days. It isn't Claude Pro, though. There's no Claude Code or Cowork, and 31 Opus messages is a sample, not a working week. The Starter week reaches Claude Haiku only. A guest pass beats both if a friend has one to spare.
- Ask friends on Claude Pro or Max whether they have a guest pass left before you pay
- Redeem a pass on an account that has never paid for Claude, and pick Pro, not Max
- Set a reminder for day 6, then cancel in Settings > Billing if you won't keep Pro
- Check whether your university or employer already has a Claude plan
- Ignore any Claude Pro trial code or 30 day trial link that isn't on an Anthropic page
Frequently asked questions
Is there a 30 day free trial of Claude Pro?
No. Anthropic's pricing page and help center list no 30 day Pro trial as of October 2026. The closest thing was a one-day offer that gave first-time subscribers on a verified company email their first month of Pro free. It closed at 7:59 a.m. PT on 30 October 2025.
Is there a Claude Pro free trial code?
No. Anthropic's free Pro week arrives as a guest pass link from an eligible Pro or Max subscriber, and its other offers are claimed on Anthropic's own pages. Its offer terms allow one redemption per person and per account, and a trial claimed through extra accounts can be revoked. A code sold on a coupon site isn't Anthropic's.
Will I be charged when a Claude guest pass ends?
Yes, unless you cancel before day 7. The pass needs a card, and Anthropic says the free trial converts to a paid Pro plan if you don't cancel, which is $20 a month on the web. Cancel in Settings > Billing and you keep Pro until the 7 days are up.
Can students get Claude Pro free?
Only through their university. Anthropic sells an institution-wide Claude for Education plan and no individual student price. A student whose school has the plan signs in with the school account. One whose school doesn't pays $20 a month like anyone else, or stays on the free plan.