
Which AI subscriptions have a family plan?
Google is the only one of seven AI vendors that lets a family share its paid AI. We read the pricing and help pages of OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Microsoft, Perplexity, xAI and Meta on 18 October 2026. Microsoft sells a family plan, but its AI stays with one person. OpenAI, Anthropic, Perplexity and xAI sell team plans priced per seat instead. Meta sells one personal plan, still in testing.
US prices, read on each vendor's own pricing or help pages on 18 October 2026, except the two rows marked otherwise: Grok Business shows xAI's December 2025 launch price, and Meta lists no price. Price per person assumes the plan is split as far as it goes.
| Subscription | Family or shared plan? | How many people | Price per person | What members get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra | Yes, family sharing | Up to 6 (the manager plus 5) | AI Pro $19.99 a month split 6 ways is $3.33. AI Plus $4.99 is $0.83. AI Ultra from $99.99 is $16.67 | Gemini app, Google Antigravity, Gemini Notebook and the storage pool. Not YouTube Premium Lite, and not Google Home Premium on Pro or Ultra |
| Microsoft 365 Family and Premium | A family plan, but the AI is for the owner only | 1 to 6 | Family $12.99 a month or $129.99 a year. Premium $19.99 a month. Copilot reaches 1 person either way | Office apps for everyone. Copilot "for subscription owner only" |
| ChatGPT (OpenAI) | No. Business is priced per seat | 2 seats minimum | $25 a seat a month, or $20 a seat billed yearly | A separate login per seat. Go and Plus are "designed to be used by individuals" |
| Claude (Anthropic) | No. Team is priced per seat | 2 to 150 seats | $25 a seat a month, or $20 a seat billed yearly | A separate seat per person. Every user must be 18 or older |
| Perplexity | No. Enterprise Pro is priced per seat | Not stated | From $40 a seat a month, or $400 a year | Pro at $20 a month is one account |
| Grok (xAI) | No. Grok Business is priced per user | Not stated | $30 a user a month at launch on 30 December 2025. xAI now quotes Business through its sales team | Plus ($8) through Ultra ($200) are one account each |
| Meta AI (Meta One) | No | One personal Meta account | Not listed by Meta. Premium reported at $19.99 a month in test markets | Benefits reach your own accounts linked in Accounts Center |
A family of four pays 75% less on Google AI Pro than on four Claude Pro plans. The next cheapest way to give four people paid AI is four Microsoft 365 Personal plans at $39.96, still twice Google's price. Google's plan is also the only real family plan in the group, so the rest of this page covers what each of the other six vendors sells instead and what a household can do with it.
Does Claude have a family plan?
No. Anthropic sells Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, and none of them is a household plan, as of October 2026. The closest thing is Claude Team, which Anthropic's pricing page sells "for teams of 2 to 150." A Standard seat costs $25 a month, or $20 a month billed yearly. Two people on Team pay $50 a month. That's $10 more than two Claude Pro plans. Team isn't a discount.
Yearly billing doesn't close the gap. Claude Pro costs $200 a year paid up front, which Anthropic shows as $17 a month, while a Team seat on yearly billing costs $20 a month, or $240 for the year. So Team only makes sense if you want one bill for several people, and you'll pay for it.
Teenagers can't use Claude at all. Anthropic's consumer terms say you "must be at least 18 years old" to use the service. Sharing one Pro login is off the table too. The same terms say: "You also may not make your Account available to anyone else."
Does ChatGPT have a family plan?
No. OpenAI's pricing page says "Go, Free, and Plus plans are designed to be used by individuals." ChatGPT Business is the only plan that puts several people on one bill. OpenAI's Business help page says a workspace needs "at least 2 Standard or Premium seats in total." A Standard seat costs $25 a month, or $20 billed yearly.
What OpenAI does give families costs nothing. Parental controls link a parent's account to a teen's, and one parent can link several teens. OpenAI's parental controls FAQ says linking "does not give a parent or guardian access to a teen's conversations, chat history, or real-time activity." Billing stays separate. Each account pays for itself. ChatGPT family plan walks through each household setup in detail.
What does a Google AI Pro family member get?
A Google AI Pro family member gets the Gemini app and Google's other AI tools on their own Google account, at no extra cost. Google's family sharing page puts the limit plainly: "You can share Google One with up to 5 family members." Members get "Access to AI benefits such as Gemini App, Google Antigravity, Gemini Notebook, and other AI features." Some limits are pooled, though: on Google Flow and Antigravity the whole family shares one usage limit.
Two things stay with the person who pays. YouTube Premium Lite is never shared, and members on AI Pro or Ultra don't get Google Home Premium. Google's AI plans page lists "Family sharing with up to five others" on Plus, Pro and Ultra alike. In the US, those plans cost $4.99, $19.99 and from $99.99 a month on Google's subscriptions page.
Age rules apply per feature. The Gemini app needs members over 13, or the minimum age in their country. Deep Research, Antigravity and Gemini in Gmail need members aged 18 or older. A Google family group holds "up to 6 people," all with the same Google Play country. In Google Photos, each member gets their own daily limits for Photo to video and Remix.
Does Microsoft 365 Family include Copilot for everyone?
No. Microsoft 365 Family covers 1 to 6 people for $12.99 a month or $129.99 a year, but only the owner gets Copilot. Microsoft's plan comparison labels it "AI for subscription owner only." Its FAQ says the AI features "are only available to the subscription owner and cannot be shared with others."
Premium works the same way. It costs $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year for 1 to 6 people, with Copilot for one. So four people who all want Copilot need four subscriptions. Personal, at $9.99 a month, is the cheapest one that carries Copilot chat.
Is there a Perplexity, Grok or Meta AI family plan?
No, none of the three sells one. Perplexity's help center lists Pro at "$20/month or $200/year" and Max at $200 a month (plans). Its plan guide prices Enterprise Pro from $40 a seat a month. Verified students pay $10 for Education Pro. A user posted a family plan request on Perplexity's community forum in February 2026. By October it had one reply, and none from staff.
xAI's plans page lists Plus at $8, Premium at $30, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200 a month. Each one is a single account, and the page doesn't mention families. xAI launched Grok Business at $30 a user a month on 30 December 2025. Its Business page now sends buyers to a sales form, with no price shown, as of October 2026.
Meta's paid plan is still a test. Meta's help page says "Meta One is currently in limited testing and isn't available everywhere yet." It needs a personal Meta account, and its benefits reach "the accounts linked in your Account Center." Those are your own Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp accounts, not a family's. Meta's page names no price. AlternativeTo and other outlets reported Premium at $19.99 a month in September 2026, with the first tests in Singapore, Guatemala and Bolivia.
Is a team plan cheaper than separate accounts for a family?
No. On ChatGPT and Claude, a team seat costs more than a personal plan: $25 a month against $20 for Plus or Pro. Yearly billing brings a seat to $20 a month. That matches the monthly personal price, and it's still above Claude Pro's $200 year. What the extra money buys is one bill and a 2 seat minimum.
For most families the cheaper setup is simple. Put the heavy user on a personal plan, leave the light users on the free tiers that ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity all offer, and upgrade a second person only when they keep hitting limits. If the whole house is happy with Gemini, one Google AI Pro plan covers six people.
Whizi, which publishes this page, has no family or team plan either. Its Starter, Pro and Powerhouse plans each cover one person (team accounts). It fits the one person at home who wants Claude and ChatGPT models side by side: Pro at $29.99 a month carries Claude Opus, Claude Sonnet and ChatGPT Sol.
- Check the date on any table, this one included: OpenAI, Anthropic and Google have all changed plans within the past year
- If everyone in the house can use Gemini, price one Google AI Pro or AI Plus plan against several personal plans
- Don't count on Microsoft 365 Family for AI: Copilot reaches only the person who owns the subscription
- Before buying a team plan for two people, add up the seats: $50 a month on Claude Team or ChatGPT Business against $40 for two personal plans
- Keep teenagers off Claude, which requires users to be 18 or older
Frequently asked questions
Can I share my Claude Pro account with my family?
No. Anthropic's consumer terms say "You may not share your Account login information" with anyone else, and that you may not make your account available to anyone else either. Everyone on one login would also read each other's chats. Are shared AI accounts safe covers what happens when a shared login gets flagged.
What is the cheapest AI plan for a whole family?
Google AI Plus is the cheapest, at $4.99 a month in the US as of October 2026, shared with up to 5 other family members. Split six ways, that's about $0.83 a person. Google lists it at 2x the usage of the free tier, against 4x for AI Pro. Google AI Plus vs Google AI Pro compares the two in full.
Is ChatGPT Business a good family plan?
Not on price. ChatGPT Business needs at least 2 seats at $25 a month each, so two people pay $50 against $40 for two Plus plans, as of October 2026. It gives each person their own login on one bill, which is the only thing it adds for a household. ChatGPT Business vs Plus lists what else changes.
Does Claude Team work for two people at home?
Claude Team starts at 2 seats, and Anthropic sells it for teams of 2 to 150, so two people can buy it. It costs $25 a seat a month, which is $10 more than two Claude Pro plans. Both users must be 18 or older. Is Claude Pro worth it helps decide whether each person needs a paid plan at all.