T3 boxes: dividends to line 12000, gains to 17600, other to 13000

Asked of Whizi's Canadian CPA agent. Every figure is checked against canada.ca and the Income Tax Act.

Canadian CPA

Where does each box on my client's T3 slip go on the T1?

Canadian CPA

On 2025 and 2026 T3 slips, boxes 32 and 50 go on line 12000, box 21 minus box 30 goes on Schedule 3 line 17600, box 26 minus box 31 goes on line 13000, and box 25 goes on line 12100. Boxes 39 and 51 go on line 40425. Boxes 23 and 49 aren't reported; box 42 adjusts cost base.

Where does each T3 box go on the T1?

Each box has a fixed home on the return. These are the CRA's instructions to the individual who receives the slip canada.ca.

BoxWhat it holdsWhere it goes
21Capital gains (full amount)Box 21 minus box 30, on line 17600 of Schedule 3
22Lump sum pension incomeLine 13000
23Actual dividends other than eligibleNot reported
24Foreign business incomeLine 13500, and Form T2209
25Foreign non business incomeLine 12100, and line 43300 of Form T2209
26Other incomeBox 26 minus box 31, on line 13000
30Capital gains eligible for the deductionThe matching lines of Schedule 3
31Qualifying pension incomeLine 11500
32Taxable dividends other than eligibleLine 12000, and also line 12010
33Foreign business income tax paidLine 4 of Form T2209
34Foreign non business income tax paidLine 1 of Form T2209
37Insurance segregated fund net capital lossesLine 17600 of Schedule 3
38Part XII.2 tax creditLine 45600
39 and 51Federal dividend tax creditLine 40425 (total of both)
40, 41, 43Investment tax creditsForm T2038(IND)
42Amount resulting in cost base adjustmentNot income: adjust the ACB of the units
49Actual eligible dividendsNot reported
50Taxable eligible dividendsLine 12000

Box 26 is a catch all. The trust can put interest, net rental income, net business income, pension income other than a lump sum, retiring allowances and death benefits in it canada.ca. That's why it all lands on line 13000 rather than line 12100. Box 35 (eligible death benefits) and boxes 46 and 47 are already inside box 26, so don't add them again. Your client may not have to pay tax on up to $10,000 of death benefits, and a sole recipient reports only the amount above $10,000 canada.ca.

Why you report box 50, not box 49

Boxes 23 and 49 show the dividends actually paid out, and the CRA's instruction for them is short: do not report these amounts canada.ca. The trust has already done the gross up. For an individual beneficiary, box 32 is box 23 multiplied by 1.15, box 50 is box 49 multiplied by 1.38, box 39 is 9.0301% of box 32 and box 51 is 15.0198% of box 50 canada.ca.

Dividend typeActual (not reported)Taxable (report)Federal credit
EligibleBox 49Box 50 = box 49 × 1.38Box 51 = 15.0198% of box 50
Other than eligibleBox 23Box 32 = box 23 × 1.15Box 39 = 9.0301% of box 32

Put the total of boxes 32 and 50 on line 12000, repeat box 32 on line 12010, and claim the total of boxes 39 and 51 on line 40425 canada.ca. Those rates match the 2026 dividend gross up figures for T5 dividends. If a preparer keys box 49 instead of box 50, the return understates income by 27.5% of the grossed up amount and the credit no longer ties.

Box 21 is the full gain, and Schedule 3 takes half

The trust reports its taxable capital gain on line 921 of Schedule 9, and box 21 is the beneficiary's share of that line multiplied by 2 canada.ca. So box 21 is the whole gain. Subtract any box 30 amount from box 21 and report the difference on line 17600 of Schedule 3 canada.ca. Schedule 3 then brings half into income on line 12700, because the 2026 inclusion rate stayed at 50% after the increase was cancelled.

Box 30 is the part of box 21 that came from qualified small business corporation shares or qualified farm or fishing property, and only a personal trust fills it in canada.ca. It goes on the matching lines of Schedule 3 so your client can claim the lifetime capital gains exemption against it. Boxes 55 and 57 split those gains by whether the disposition happened before June 25, 2024 or after June 24, 2024.

Two smaller items share line 17600. Box 37 (insurance segregated fund net capital losses) goes there as a loss, and a box 21 amount with an asterisk carries a footnote showing the foreign portion, which goes on line 43300 of Form T2209 for the foreign tax credit canada.ca.

What box 42 does to the adjusted cost base

Box 42 isn't income. It changes the ACB of the units named on the slip canada.ca. A positive amount, usually a return of capital, reduces the ACB. A negative amount is added to the ACB. The trust has to put an asterisk beside box 42 and footnote whether the amount adds to or subtracts from the cost base canada.ca.

The edge case is a return of capital larger than the remaining cost. When repeated box 42 amounts push the ACB below zero, the negative amount is deemed to be a capital gain in that year, even with no sale canada.ca. The adjusted cost base page walks through that calculation unit by unit.

Track box 42 every year in the client file. It doesn't touch the return when the slip arrives, so it's the box most often skipped, and the error only shows up as an overstated or understated gain years later on the sale.

Which T3 boxes feed the foreign tax credit?

Four boxes link to Form T2209. Box 24 (foreign business income) goes on line 13500 and box 33 holds the tax paid on it, which goes on line 4 of Form T2209. Box 25 (foreign non business income) goes on line 12100 and on line 43300 of Form T2209, and box 34 holds the tax paid on it, which goes on line 1 of Form T2209 canada.ca.

Boxes 24 and 25 are reported before withholding taxes canada.ca. Report the gross amount as income and claim the withheld tax as a credit. Netting the two understates income and loses the credit. The limits, including the 15% cap on tax from foreign property income, are on the foreign tax credit page.

How one fund T3 adds $3,655 to total income

Your client holds 1,000 units of a Canadian equity fund in a taxable account. The T3 shows box 21 $2,000, box 23 $500, box 25 $400, box 26 $300 of interest, box 34 $60, box 42 $250 and box 49 $1,000. The trust works out the rest: box 32 is $575 ($500 × 1.15), box 39 is $51.92 (9.0301% of $575), box 50 is $1,380 ($1,000 × 1.38) and box 51 is $207.27 (15.0198% of $1,380).

Return entryCalculationAmount
Line 12000Box 32 $575 + box 50 $1,380$1,955.00
Line 12010Box 32$575.00
Line 12100Box 25$400.00
Line 13000Box 26 $300 − box 31 $0$300.00
Schedule 3, line 17600Box 21 $2,000 − box 30 $0$2,000.00
Line 12700$2,000 × 50%$1,000.00
Line 40425Box 39 $51.92 + box 51 $207.27$259.19
Form T2209, line 1Box 34$60.00
ACB of the unitsReduced by box 42 ($0.25 a unit)−$250.00

The slip adds $3,655 to total income ($1,955 + $400 + $300 + $1,000). The $1,500 of actual dividends in boxes 23 and 49 never appears on the return, and the $250 in box 42 appears only in the cost base working paper.

Do I report T3 amounts that were reinvested in more units?

Canadian CPA

Yes. The CRA considers your client to have received the amounts before reinvesting them, so the slip amounts are reported the same way canada.ca. The reinvested amount also adds to the ACB of the units, which keeps it from being taxed again on the sale.

When should my client receive the T3 slip?

Canadian CPA

Within 90 days after the trust's year end. The CRA requires T3 slips to reach the beneficiary's last known address by then canada.ca, which is March 31, 2027 for a December 31, 2026 year end. See the T3 filing deadline for the other year ends.

Where does box 48 (charitable donations) go?

Canadian CPA

On Schedule 9 of the T1, not on an income line. The CRA sends it to line 33700, 33900, 34000 or 34200 of Schedule 9 depending on the type of donation canada.ca.

Which slip edition is current?

Canadian CPA

The CRA has posted the 2026 edition of the T3 slip for trust administrators canada.ca. The box numbers on this page are the same on the 2025 and 2026 slips; as of October 2026, check the footnotes on each slip for the asterisked boxes (21, 26, 30, 42, 45, 55 and 57).

General information for the tax year shown, not advice for a specific client. Confirm the facts before you file or remit.

Your own tax assistant for CA$1.99 this week

It is already set to Canadian CPA. Type the question your client asked you today.

Whizi Pro
CA$1.99
for your first week
Start for CA$1.99
Renews monthly after the first week. Cancel before it renews and you pay nothing more.
Canadian CPA
Attach Web search Image
  • Year and CRA page on every figure
  • Deep Research, every claim cited
  • Reads your PDFs and spreadsheets
  • Claude Opus, ChatGPT and Gemini too